Slayer Announces Winter Tour

Slayer Announces Winter Tour

Tuesday, 14 November 2006

“…brutal, malevolent, and inhumanely fast…”
— Revolver on Slayer

Unearthed to be Special Guest on All Dates

Los Angeles, CA – November 14, 2006 — SLAYER – Tom Araya/bass, vocals, Kerry King/guitars, Jeff Hanneman/guitars, and Dave Lombardo/drums – the pioneers and undisputed kings of extreme speed/thrash metal – will hit the road on January 24 for a four-week North American tour. The dates are in support of the band’s latest album, “Christ Illusion” (August 8, American Recordings) the band’s first new studio album since 1990’s “Seasons In The Abyss,” and its highest-charting album ever (#5 on Billboard’s Top 200 Albums Chart). Unearthed will open all shows.

“Over the past few months, we’ve had a great time headlining ‘Unholy Alliance’ in North America and Europe, bringing a killer five-act bill to the fans,” said Slayer’s King. “But we’re looking forward to this next tour, where it’s just Slayer and Unearthed, playing venues where we can be right in the fans’ faces.”

These North American dates come on the heels of Slayer’s uber-successful international tour which, between August and November, took the band to SRO shows in the UK, Brazil, Chile, Argentina, Colombia, Venezuela, Mexico, Singapore, Japan, Holland, Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Belgium, Finland, Denmark and Sweden. While in Germany, the band paid a special visit to the U.S. Troops of the 52nd Services Squadron located on the Spangdahlem U.S. Air Force Base.

“Christ Illusion” is Slayer’s first new studio album in five years, and the first recorded by the original line-up in more than 15 years. The album, which deals with the brutality of war and religious fanaticism and scrutinizes America’s role in Iraq and Afghanistan, prompted one media outlet to hail it “…this year’s most political album since Neil Young’s ‘Living with War.'” Overall, the album has received raves: Transworld’s Surf called it “one of the band’s finest albums to date, ranking right up there with ‘Reign In Blood’…”, The New York Times wrote that the CD is “the most concentrated, focused Slayer record in 20 years,” and Penthouse said, “Slayer has created an album so fast, so loud, and so good that you might think you’ve sold your soul.”

Confirmed dates for Slayer’s winter 2007 North American tour are as follows:

24 Tucson Convention Center, Tucson, AZ
25 House of Blues, Las Vegas, NV
26 TBA
28 Memorial Auditorium, Sacramento, CA
30 Great Salt Air, Salt Lake City, UT
31 Fillmore Auditorium, Denver, CO

2 Bricktown Events Center, Oklahoma City, OK
3 Memorial Hall, Kansas City, KS
5 Egyptian Room, Indianapolis, IN
7 Labatt Center, London, Ontario CANADA
8 Copps Coliseum, Hamilton, Ontario CANADA
9 Scotiabank Place, Ottawa, Ontario CANADA
10 Mid-Hudson Civic Center, Poughkeepsie, NY
12 Lifestyles Pavilion, Columbus, OH
13 Convocation Center, Youngstown, OH
15 Hammerstein Ballroom, New York, NY
16 Lupo’s at the Strand Theatre, Providence, Rhode Island
17 House of Blues, Atlantic City, NJ
19 9:30 Club, Washington, D.C.
20 9:30 Club, Washington, D.C.
22 House of Blues, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
23 House of Blues, Orlando, FL
24 Ft. Lauderdale, FL

# # #

Comments are closed.