First List Of New Releases Announced For Record Store Day 2012

Thursday, 29 March 2012

As tends to be the case around every big holiday, the countdown to Record Store Day 2012 has officially begun. Since its foundation in 2007 (and maybe longer), the third Saturday of April has been marked by the  music fans of all stripes but especially those who favor vinyl recordings above all else flock to their much-loved independent record stores to see what special new releases conceived specifically for the day line the shelves. The first group of new releases for Record Store Day have been announced and are listed below, but rest assured there will be more and we at Ground Control will update readers as more information becomes available.

– Amanda Palmer & the Grand Theft Orchestra: The badass loudmouth will drop a 7" that includes her cover of Nirvana's "Polly" that she recorded for SPIN's Newermind compilation last year.
– Animal Collective: The gang is dropping a 12" that includes live and original recordings from the trio's experimental appearance in March 2010 at New York's Guggenheim Museum, for which they used a computer program to weave three individually created tracks, producing what can only be described as a multi-stemmed sonic mindfuck. The 12" will be accompanied by the launch of a website that will allow fans to repeat the band's experiment with their own tracks.
– Aretha Franklin/Otis Redding: The soul greats are teaming up to release a 7" featuring Redding's original version of "Respect," with Franklin's iconic cover of the song as the B-side.
– Beach House: The duo drops the first physical single from their forthcoming LP Bloom, "Lazuli," as a white vinyl 7" with unreleased track "Equal Mind" as B-side.
– Carolina Chocolate Drops/Run DMC: The old-timey banjo band covers Run DMC's "You Be Illin'" as the B-side to the original DMC version on 7" bottle-green vinyl.
– Dinosaur Jr.: J Mascis and Built to Spill's Brett Nelson re-imagine and re-record Dino Jr. tracks as what they call The Electronic Anthology Project of Dinosaur Jr, to be released on CD.
– The Civil Wars: LIVE AT AMOEBA – Live EP recorded at Amoeba Hollywood June 14, 2011. Includes 6 songs from Barton Hollow and 2 covers. Limited to 1000.
– Alexisonfire: "Math Sheets Demo" 10" – The “Math Sheets Demo” is the FIRST recording Alexisonfire made. And this is the first time its available on Vinyl (or in any format other than the initial pressing)! The original demos, were sold at local shows and made in DIY fashion – burned CDs wrapped in their highschool math notes. Includes white vinyl, NEW liner notes from George Pettit, and a coupon for high quality digital download. Limited to 1000.
– Attack In Black: Marriage (DELUXE) 12" and 10" – Long Out of Print! Includes 180g black vinyl, bonus 10" featuring 5 extra tracks, insert and coupon for high quality digital download. Limited to 500.
– Moneen: The Red Tree (DELUXE) 2×12" + 7" Long Out of Print! Includes 180g color vinyl with previously unreleased songs, bonus 7" featuring 2 extra tracks, new artwork and coupon for high quality digital download. Limited to 500.
– Wool: Lunar Momento • Lost Rancho Session 1 – 12" and 7" – Recently discovered recording sessions from the band Wool at the legendary Rancho De La Luna Studios featuring Pete Stahl (Scream, Goatsnake, earthlings?), Franz Stahl (Scream, Foo Fighters, DYS), Al Bloch (Concrete Blonde, My Favorite Martian), Chris Bratton (Chain of Strength, Inside Out, Drive Like Jehu). Includes 180g black vinyl, bonus 7" featuring 2 extra tracks, extensive liner notes and coupon for high quality digital download. Limited to 500.
– Monster Truck / DZ Deathrays: Split 7" – Australia’s DZ Deathrays and Canada’s Monster Truck join forces for a split 7” release. Includes unreleased DZ Deathrays track, “Runnin’” by Monster Truck and a coupon for high quality digital download. Limited to 300.
– Lana Del Rey: The blog-bait-y lady drops a remix 7" that includes "Born to Die" as remixed by Gorillaz/Blur's Damon Albarn as its A-side and "Blue Jeans" as remixed by Penguin Prison as B-side.
– Mastodon/Feist: The Feistodon 7" arriveth.
– The Smiths: The saddest band gets a little sleepy: this LP is a collection of the Smiths' greatest hits re-imagined as lullabies. Let the indoctrination of our children begin.
– Various Artists: The soundtracks for Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club, and Empire Records are all getting the RSD vinyl rerelease treatment!


For more information, visit the official Record Store Day web site here .

Comments are closed.